Too much typing

I spend a lot of time typing mathematics in LaTeX. Here’s a summary of everything that I typed for my math courses this quarter:

Algebraic number theory:
Notes: 22 pages
Homework: 49 pages

Functional analysis:
Notes: 60 pages
Homework: 42 pages

Representation theory:
Notes: 42 pages
Homework: 15 pages

That’s a total of 230 pages over ten weeks. I hope my computer is not getting too tired.

Update:
I also typed papers for my writing class (PWR) in LaTeX. That comprised a total of approximately 12 double-spaced pages. This means that for every page written for my writing class, I wrote approximately 19 pages of math.

10 responses to “Too much typing

  1. Elliott June 12, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    I hope YOU’RE not getting too tired!

  2. Elliott June 12, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Also, your post is accompanied by an ad for “Natural Latex Mattresses”

  3. Moor Xu June 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I haven’t typed any math in a few days, and it feels rather strange.
    Also, my posts come with ads? And why hasn’t the internet figured out that Latex != LaTeX?

    • Elliott June 13, 2011 at 1:22 am

      Also interesting is when you talk about hard drive settings–set the C drive as ‘master’ and set the D drive as ‘slave’.

  4. thechanster June 23, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    You should also put up the figures for PWR 2 for comparison.

    • Moor Xu June 23, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      PWR numbers are up. It’s scary how little I had to write for a writing class.

      • thechanster June 25, 2011 at 8:51 am

        Excellent. I have similar numbers—it’s amusing that as a (soon-to-be-former) English and Math major, the latter is really the one that keeps me writing all the time. :P

        Also, if anyone complains about PWR, you should be like, Wait until you take a math class! That’s when the writing begins!

  5. thechanster June 23, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Also, why is Terry Tao’s blog not on your blogroll?

Leave a Reply

