I need more work?

I spent all of spring quarter feeling somewhat overworked. It felt as if I was trying to juggle too many things: three math classes, another class that was a waste of time, SUMO events, ARML coaching, and everything else that happened over the quarter: launching rockets, finishing up SMT stuff, various miscellaneous meetings… I didn’t have time to do anything as well as I would like, and work was often deferred until it become no longer relevant.

Now that the quarter is over, I suddenly have a lot more free time. There are no more constant deadlines, and I can actually look more than a day or two into the future without recoiling in horror at mountains of work. I’m returning to a regular sleep schedule, and everything is good — except for one minor problem. I’ve become accustomed to always having lots to do, and having free time feels rather foreign.

I’m still trying to keep myself busy, of course. My summer to do list is long, longer than what could possibly be finished in one summer. But the lack of firm deadlines makes all of that seem distant, maybe even optional. The clear lesson here is that I need more work.

Surely, I’ll stop feeling this way fairly soon. By the fall, having any work at all will probably feel odious and unpleasant. But for now, I’ll continue to ponder my long to do list, procrastinate on most of it, and wonder why I have so little work.

2 responses to “I need more work?

  1. Robin June 13, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I think the problem with last quarter and its insane business is that now I’m incapable of working on something unless it’s either fun or is due in < 24 hours. Time to get others to help me enforce arbitrary deadlines on myself!

    • Moor Xu June 13, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      Work on SMT! There are a whole page of deadlines to try to meet. Something else that helps is to promise other people that you’ll do something by a certain date; that’s what pressured me into actually finishing that post on mathematical writing, for example.

Leave a Reply

