Dreams

One day, a few weeks ago, I was working on a representation theory problem set, and at some point, I curled up on a couch in order to take a nap. I dreamed that I was in a forest, holding a harpoon gun, hunting representations. The representations were little LaTeX symbols with legs, \chi_U and \rho(g) and character tables that kept running away into the bushes. I dreamed that I was walking softly through the forest, stalking my prey. I can’t recall if I ended up catching any representations, though I think I woke up from the frustration of watching those representations run away.

Another time, I started to fall asleep in an algebraic number theory class. At the time, fields were being discussed, and as I drifted into sleep, I saw a cow standing by the door at the front of the classroom. The cow appeared to be in a grassy field, and it looked very happy.

I think I should sleep more.

2 responses to “Dreams

  1. Bif June 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    I like this. I don’t dream, but if I did, hunting character tables would sure be an interesting dream….

  2. Pingback: Seventh Linkfest

Leave a Reply

