ARML

Sorry about not posting for the past few months. I’ve been very busy recently. With the start of the summer, I should be able to post much more frequently.

I have been a coach for the San Francisco Bay Area ARML team for the past two years. Every year, people ask me why I help with ARML, and the answer is always the same: because it’s fun.

I enjoyed my first trip to ARML in 2008, and ARML has gotten better every year. Unlike most contests, ARML is heavily team-based, and as such, it is a great way to meet interesting people. ARML tends to build a sense of community that is lacking from most math events. Over the past few years, I’ve met many students and coaches at ARML, and they are a major reason why I go back to ARML every year.

Another big part of coaching ARML are the practices that we run every spring. It’s always great to see the gathering of people with similar mathematical interests. I believe in teaching math as a way to learn and understand something more thoroughly, and I hope to do more teaching at ARML practices in future years. Doing math is often most enjoyable as a social activity, and I think that our practices fully demonstrate that feature.

Here’s a list of interesting things that happened at ARML, in no particular order:

  • Green sharpies
  • Easy button thieves
  • A disappearing sword
  • Brilliant power round solutions
  • Paper balls and paper airplanes
  • Math!
One response to “ARML

  1. Colin Aitken June 11, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    I like how four of the five things here are at least part my fault, and two are entirely my fault :D

Leave a Reply

